QR Codes in Copious Quantities

This post is about a few of my favorite things: mobile marketing, food, and crafting. Joy!

Have you noticed how popular QR codes have become? They’re a pretty fun way to engage an audience using their own gadget-licious smart phone. However, I believe there are best-use scenarios for the little blocks. For instance, airport signage sporting coupons for terminal restaurants – brilliant. Billboard that can’t actually be scanned by a moving driver – fail.

You may or may not be aware of my love for the Cracker Barrel. One of the things on the table along with your biscuits and golf-tee game is the little folding wooden sign promoting the latest dessert or gospel album. Now they always have a QR code on them. It makes me wonder, “Is the Cracker Barrel audience savvy to QR codes?” and then I realized that I was sitting their scanning the QR code…

Even more fun? Crafters have started working them into their designs. Because custom QR codes are so easy to make, their striking high-contrast design makes for an attractive and clever “statement” piece. Get it? It makes a statement…literally… I digress. The below Etsy seller, ArtemisiaStudio, will create a custom QR message in a quilt pattern for your crafty fingers.

We are certainly living in interesting times.

QR Codes in Copious Quantities

2 thoughts on “QR Codes in Copious Quantities

  1. Hi Brandy,

    Thanks so much for giving me a ‘shout-out’ with my QR code quilt. This message is for a valentine’s message for my sweetheart just before we were married. I sent him a tulip plant and the card stated “tulips for now, two lips forever” (Yeah, kind of corny, but we are about to celebrate our 21st anniversary.) 8^)

Leave a Reply

