Devil in the Details

In honor of National Deviled Egg Day this week (and in response to a personal craving), I whipped up some quick Deviled Eggs. *Side note: the “devil” in deviled eggs comes from an old recipe that includes adding a lot of spicy ingredients to the yolk.

It was around this time that I realized…I don’t really know how to boil and egg. It’s the age old joke – “She doesn’t even know how to boil an egg!” Upon further research I learned that, though while very simple, it’s no intuitive task. Dearest Martha explained it best in a few short instructions. I remember my mother telling me these things at some point…

By the way, they turned out beautifully. No gray edges, no rubbery whites. Lovely.

Much to my further chagrin, I didn’t have any mayo handy. Who buys mayo just to use a tablespoon every few months? So my recipe included spicy brown mustard, sea salt, cracked pepper and a dash of hot sauce. I topped them off with Creole Seasoning (couldn’t find the paprika) and a little turmeric for good health. I think I could have done without the salt, as the hot sauce added a lot of flavor.

But they were pretty good! Certainly satisfied my craving, and inspired me to boil more eggs in my future!

Devil in the Details

One thought on “Devil in the Details

Leave a Reply

