Toilet Paper Tomatoes

Years ago, I caught my (now dearly departed) Mississippi grandmother spreading tomato seeds onto a paper towel. When I asked her about it, she walked me out to the little cart that acted as a planter and showed me the tomato plants that had grown from the buried paper towels of her previous harvest.

The bubble of juice surrounding the tomato seed adheres to the paper as it dries, making an easy-to-handle sheet of seeds. The paper breaks down in the soil, allowing the seed to spring to life uninhibited. I used toilet paper, which I think will break down quicker.

Let’s see what happens next year!

20110901-102532.jpg

Toilet Paper Tomatoes

Leave a Reply

