Dr. Bombay’s Underwater Tea Party

First of all, how great is that name? From the moment I saw it a few months ago, I knew I had to visit Dr. Bombay’s. Not one to dine alone much, I put it off and put it off. Finally, on one of my “get out of the office” kicks, I ventured over there. (btw, so many good restaurants within a stone’s throw of my new office. I love my job.) The name did not disappoint. It was like a cozy little haven on the already haven-like Candler Park main drag.

It was made for me. Fresh and interesting grab-and-go sandwiches, a treats case, ice cream, yards and yards of tea flavors (black, please, with a little sugar), and that’s just the counter! When I went into the “book room” to enjoy lunch with my Kindle, I just stood there for a full minute soaking it all in. Book-lined walls enveloped the room. Japanese umbrellas hung spinning from the ceiling of billowing fabric. A mother literally sat reading a book to her five year old. Bali Hai (like, Rodgers and Hammerstein Bali Hai) played softly on the speakers. I could perch for an eternity in that ambiance.

I settled into a vintage booth that overlooked the room, next to a wall covered in antique portraits. The wrap that I grabbed from the cooler looked like a standard caprese wrap, but I was pleasantly surprised to find it lined with a sundried tomato pimento cheese, and flecked with artichoke hearts and arugula along with the mozzarella, tomato and basil. It was tasty. Even the side of potato salad was tasty…and side-potato salad is never tasty. The tea I ordered, based on the recommendation of the somewhat distracted woman behind the counter, was pomegranate green tea. A little sweet, a little fruity, and a shocking red color that thankfully didn’t stain my mouth. It was great over ice.

I also picked up a couple of cupcakes for later: chocolate and chai. Both were very good (a little dense for my personal taste), and substantial enough to be a meal. I recommend the chai.

And if these things were not enough to endear me forever to this place, they actually sell the books on the shelves. For a dollar. And the money goes to a woman’s educational charity based in India. Heart.

Overall, the ambiance itself is worth checking out. I’ve read about people complaining about the marginal price increase on a cup of coffee, or the spotty free wifi. But as Quentin Tarantino said, “You can’t write poetry on the computer.”

More reviews here: Dr. Bombay's Underwater Tea Party on Urbanspoon

Dr. Bombay’s Underwater Tea Party

4 thoughts on “Dr. Bombay’s Underwater Tea Party

  1. Hi ,
    Your first posts just appeared on Urbanspoon! Check it out:
    http://www.urbanspoon.com/r/9/125150/restaurant/Atlanta/Forest-Park/Lees-Golden-Buddha-Morrow
    http://www.urbanspoon.com/r/9/1539408/restaurant/Virginia-Highland/Super-Pan-Atlanta
    I encourage you to claim your blog, which allows you to add a picture and change some settings. The blog photo shows up next to your posts wherever they appear on Urbanspoon. Here’s how to claim:
    – Make sure you’re logged into Urbanspoon
    – Go to your blog page on our site: http://www.urbanspoon.com/br/9/5773/Atlanta/Moving-Target.html

    – Click “Claim your blog” in the left sidebar
    After you submit it, we may contact you to verify your claim. Check your spam email folder if your claim hasn’t gone through in a day or two. You’ll also find some interesting badges and widgets on your Urbanspoon blog page – look in the right sidebar.
    Let me know if you have any questions.
    Thanks,
    Ken
    http://www.urbanspoon.com

Leave a Reply

